` IJCAR 2018 Oxford Skyline


General Information

The 9th International Joint Conference on Automated Reasoning will take place July 14-17, 2018, as part of FLoC 2018 in Oxford, United Kingdom.


IJCAR is the premier international joint conference on all topics in automated reasoning. The IJCAR technical program will consist of presentations of high-quality original research papers, system descriptions, and invited talks. IJCAR 2018 is part of the Federated Logic Conference and is the merger of leading events in automated reasoning:

  • CADE (Conference on Automated Deduction)
  • FroCoS (Symposium on Frontiers of Combining Systems)
  • TABLEAUX (Conference on Analytic Tableaux and Related Methods)

IJCAR 2018 invites submissions related to all aspects of automated reasoning, including foundations, implementations, and applications. Original research papers and descriptions of working automated deduction systems are solicited.

IJCAR topics include the following ones:

  • Logics of interest include: propositional, first-order, classical, equational, higher-order, non-classical, constructive, modal, temporal, many-valued, substructural, description, type theory, etc.
  • Methods of interest include: tableaux, sequent calculi, resolution, model-elimination, inverse method, paramodulation, term rewriting, induction, unification, constraint solving, decision procedures, model generation, model checking, semantic guidance, interactive theorem proving, logical frameworks, AI-related methods for deductive systems, proof presentation, automated theorem provers, etc.
  • Applications of interest include: verification, formal methods, program analysis and synthesis, computer mathematics, declarative programming, deductive databases, knowledge representation, etc.

We welcome papers combining automated-reasoning formalisms & techniques and with those from other areas of CS and mathematics -- including, e.g., computer algebra, machine learning, formal languages, formal verification, termination. In particular, high-quality conference papers on the topics of the IJCAR 2018 affiliated workshops are welcome.

Call For Papers

The Call for Papers is available in plain (UTF-8) text format.


Please submit your papers via EasyChair at https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=ijcar2018. The page limit for regular research papers is 16 pages. Short system descriptions should not exceed 8 pages. For more details see the Call for Papers.

Important Dates

Abstract submission deadline: January 22nd 2018
Paper submission deadline: January 29th, 2018 February 4th (9 pm AoE)
Author notification: March 29th, 2018
Camera-ready paper versions due: April 23rd, 2018
IJCAR Conference: July 14nd-17th 2018
FLoC: July 6th-19th 2018

Invited Speakers

Erika Ábrahám is a (junior) Professor of Computer Science at RWTH Aachen and head of the research group Theory of Hybrid Systems. Her research areas include decision procedures, SMT-solving and bounded model checking, in particular in the context of the SC2 initiative.

Martin Giese is a Professor in the Department of Informatics at the University of Oslo, and a member of the Research Group for Logic and Intelligent Data (LOGID). His research interests include first-order logic, tableaux-based methodsy, description logics, and semantic technologies and the semantic web.

In addition, IJCAR 2018 will share two invited speakers of FLoC, Georges Gonthier and Byron Cook.


The program will become available in spring 2018, when invited speakers and accepted papers are known. IJCAR will also host a number of FLoC workshops and the CADE ATP System Competition.


Proceedings will be available electronically at FLoC, and will also be published by Springer in the LNAI subseries of LNCS.

IJCAR'18 Special Issue of the Journal of Automated Reasoning

The authors of a selection of the best IJCAR'18 papers will be invited to produce an extended version of their paper for a special issue of the Journal of Automated Reasoning.


Registration to IJACR is part of the FLoC registration process.

Associated Events

IJCAR 2018 is one of the constituent meetings of FLoC 2018 and acts as the host conference for a number of affiliated events.

List of Workshops

  1. 16th International Workshop on Termination (WST 2018)
  2. Vampire 2018: The 5th Vampire Workshop
  3. SC2: International Workshop on Satisfiability Checking and Symbolic Computation
  4. PRUV'18: Logics for Reasoning about Preferences, Uncertainty, and Vagueness
  5. Theorem Prover Components for Educational Software (ThEdu'18)
  6. Satisfiability Modulo Theories (SMT'18) Workshop
  7. External and Internal Calculi for Non-classical Logics
  8. Third International Workshop on Automated Reasoning in Quantified Non-Classical Logics (ARQNL 2018)
  9. Practical Aspects of Automated Reasoning (PAAR-2018)
  10. Deduction Mentoring Workshop
  11. User Interfaces for Theorem Provers (UITP’18)

CADE ATP System Competition

  1. CADE ATP System Competition (CASC-J9)


Conference Chair

Program Chairs

Local Arrangements Chairs

Workshop Chair

Publicity Chair

Program committee

Carlos Areces FaMAF - Universidad Nacional de Córdoba
Alessandro Artale Free University of Bolzano-Bozen
Arnon Avron Tel-Aviv University
Franz Baader TU Dresden
Clark Barrett Stanford University
Peter Baumgartner Data 61 and CSIRO
Christoph Benzmüller Freie Universität Berlin
Armin Biere Johannes Kepler University Linz
Nikolaj Bjorner Microsoft Research
Jasmin Christian Blanchette Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Maria Paola Bonacina Università degli Studi di Verona
Torben Braüner Roskilde University
Agata Ciabattoni TU Wien
Leonardo de Moura Microsoft Research
Hans De Nivelle Nazarbayev University, Astana
Stéphane Demri CNRS, LSV, ENS Paris-Saclay
Clare Dixon University of Liverpool
François Fages Inria Université Paris-Saclay
Pascal Fontaine Université de Lorraine - LORIA
Didier Galmiche (Chair) Université de Lorraine - LORIA
Vijay Ganesh Waterloo
Silvio Ghilardi Università degli Studi di Milano
Jürgen Giesl RWTH Aachen
Laura Giordano DISIT Università del Piemonte Orientale
Valentin Goranko Stockholm University
Rajeev Gore The Australian National University
Alberto Griggio FBK-IRST
John Harrison Intel Corporation
Moa Johansson Chalmers Tekniska Högskola
Cezary Kaliszyk University of Innsbruck
Deepak Kapur University of New Mexico
Konstantin Korovin The University of Manchester
Laura Kovacs Vienna University of Technology
George Metcalfe University of Bern
Dale Miller INRIA and LIX/Ecole Polytechnique
Cláudia Nalon University of Brasília
Albert Oliveras Technical University of Catalonia
Nicola Olivetti LSIS Aix-Marseille University
Jens Otten University of Oslo
Lawrence Paulson University of Cambridge
Nicolas Peltier CNRS - LIG
Frank Pfenning Carnegie Mellon University
Silvio Ranise FBK-Irst
Christophe Ringeissen LORIA-INRIA
Philipp Ruemmer Uppsala University
Katsuhiko Sano Hokkaido University
Uli Sattler The University of Manchester
Renate A. Schmidt The University of Manchester
Stephan Schulz (Chair) DHBW Stuttgart
Roberto Sebastiani (Chair) University of Trento, Italy
Viorica Sofronie-StokkermansUniversity Koblenz-Landau
Thomas Sturm CNRS
Geoff Sutcliffe University of Miami
Cesare Tinelli The University of Iowa
Alwen Tiu Nanyang Technological University
Ashish Tiwari SRI International
Josef Urban Czech Technical University in Prague
Luca Viganò King's College London
Uwe Waldmann Max Planck Institute for Informatics
Christoph Weidenbach Max Planck Institute for Informatics